Oh, Deer

“The reindeer are eating the flowers!”

Well, my daughter’s statement is half-true.  I don’t have the heart to tell her they aren’t actual reindeer, mainly because it’s so cute.  But that’s really the only cute thing about this situation.

My lilies started out strong and beautiful – loaded with blooms.

20140711-125340-46420681.jpg

20140711-125341-46421641.jpg

Then one day, I noticed the back row of lilies had been munched on.
IMG_4316.JPG

I was mad at the reindeer, but at least the majority were blooming.

20140711-125342-46422574.jpg

My anger turned to fury when our uninvited guests returned to make a meal out of the leaves, and for dessert, completely strip most of the stalks.

IMG_4317.JPGIMG_4318.JPG
IMG_4311.JPG

The only bit of good news is the flowers in the front yard have distracted the deer from the vegetables in the back.

How do I keep them out of the flowers?!?!?!?  The only reindeer I want to see are fake ones, in December.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

